My Favorite Quote

It may come to no surprise to you that my favorite quote comes from the Bible.

Jeremiah 42.10: “For if you stay in this land I will build you up and not pull you down; I will plant you and not pluck you up; for I relent of the disaster that I did to you.”

This verse randomly showed up in my life during a difficult time.  I was looking for guidance as I thought Jesus was telling me to make a change in my life that felt like He was ripping my heart out.  I told my friends, “This is what God wants me to do…”

They disagreed.

I trusted them.  They couldn’t possibly know what was going on in my heart.  The torture I was going through on both sides of the decision.

But, as it turns out, they were right.  I was so thankful for them in my life because I would have made a change that was not God’s will.  And that change would not put me where I am today.  At all.

Are you praying for direction? Does it feel like you’re stuck between a rock and a hard place?  Don’t take the easy way out.  Stick with it.

In this verse, God was telling the children of Israel to stay where they were. They didn’t listen and ended up being defeated.

In your life, you may be praying about making a change in career, location, relationship status, or financial situations.  God may be telling you to do something you don’t want to do or perhaps telling you to do what you want to do.  Either way, the first step to making this decision is deciding which path to take is to consider your ministry.

Sounds crazy, right?

I thought so.

But, seriously.  Consider your current ministry.  If you’re considering a change, consider which path will put you in a better place to serve in a local church or to spread the Gospel.

After all, this life is all about spreading the Gospel so that everyone can learn that Jesus came to earth to live and then die for us as a sacrifice so we can be made justified and not die eternally.

With love,
cropped-rr-logo-full.png

 

Leave some snaps

