Misplaced Happiness.

There are so many distracters out there.  Shiny.  Pretty.  Cool.  Interesting.  Income-earning.  For one reason or another, things distract us from Jesus.

We even get to the point where we invest ourselves in these things.  Things that, in and of themselves, are not evil or bad or immoral: our careers, home decorating, scrapbooking, Pinterest, fashion, etc.

Then, those things inevitably go sour.  We become dissatisfied with our jobs.  We run out of money for home decoration, scrapbooking or fashion.  We’ve seen it all on Pinterest.  I mean, seriously: during a winter day, I’m pretty sure I’ve gotten bored with Pinterest because I’d seen everything because I’d spent so much time on it.

That’s pathetic.

But once these things go sour, we find ourselves unhappy.

That’s when we realize that we’ve misplaced our happiness.

We’ve spent time learning and exploring and even doing good things.

It seems to me that joy stays with the stuff with which we spend the most time.

So often, the Bible tells us that our joy should be invested in salvation, which comes from God alone.

Are you ready for an obscure Bible verse?  Habakkuk 3.17-19

Though the fig tree should not blossom,
nor fruit be on the vines,
the produce of the olive fail
and the fields yield no food,
the flock be cut off from the fold
and there be no herd in the stalls,
yet I will rejoice in the Lord;
I will take joy in the God of my salvation.
God, the Lord, is my strength;|
he makes my feet like the deer’s;
he makes me tread on my high places.

This sounds a lot like a choice to me.  When things feel bleak–or are, in reality, bleak–we have to choose to remember that God is salvation.  And that, no matter what, we will spend eternity with Him.  And that He is our provider.  And He is our comfort.  The lover of our souls, ultimate counselor, rock and shield.

What can get better than that?

Lord,
Forgive me for misplacing my happiness.  For putting You anywhere but first in my life.  I trust You.  I recognize You as the authority in my life and Your truth as my compass.
In Your joyful name I pray…

 

One thought on “Misplaced Happiness.

  1. Pingback: Having A Bad Day « Doc Halloween Presents

Leave some snaps

