Ravens, Lilies and Moneybags

Tomorrow, The Hunk takes his state licensing exam to become an official, full-fledged Licensed Professional Counselor.  He’s studying as I type; I accidentally helped him study by asking him for his official title after he passes the exam/finishes paperwork.  He’s a studious one.

In order to get to this point, he’s had to get a Master’s in Clinical Counseling and intern for 700 hours.  He was hired, pending the passing of this exam, where he interned.  During his intern hours, as with many professions, he did not get paid.  In fact, he had to pay a supervisor for her supervision services on a monthly basis.

So, after passing this test, he will begin earning money for his services.  How much? Well, we don’t exactly know; if you look up a clinical counselor’s median salary, you will be mislead–especially considering how much time it takes to build up a client load and add yourself to medical networks and get a reputation.  The Hunk has a lot of work ahead of him and I pray for him –praying that he will stay balanced in his lifestyle while being the providing man he wishes to be.

But I’m a girl; I also worry.

Will we ever bring in enough money to support a child? When will these student loans go away? Why are taxes so high? Will we ever get another tax holiday?  Who will be my wealthy benefactor? What happens if he doesn’t get a sufficient client load?

Okay, seriously… I have an endless number of questions that float through my head at any given moment.  I’m blessed, though, to have a husband who reminds me, in behavior and attitude, about these words of Jesus:

And [Jesus] said to his disciples  “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat, nor about your body, what you will put on.  For life is more than food, and the body more than clothing.  Consider the ravens: they neither sow nor reap, they have neither storehouse nor barn, and yet God feeds them.  Of how much more value are you than the birds! And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?  If then you are not able to do a small a thing as that, why are you anxious about the rest? –Luke 12.22-26

Ravens? Well, not the football team; I’m not sure how many people would consider me more valuable than the ravens (my husband, maybe a parent or two).  But the ravens with feathers.  This kind of brings a new light to the saying: “this is for the birds.”

Ravens have no savings account in which to store their treasures; they have no house where they can cook their food to perfection.  Yet, they live.  They thrive.  They are taken care of.  They just have to go to their food and eat.

If I’m likened to these ravens, I must remember that I should always do what I can do, but trust God to take care of me–to provide food, a supply of food that keeps me alive.  I also trust that Seth will do what he can to provide for us as much as he can.  He’s that kind of man.  A real man.

And I can think of times when God has provided for me when I didn’t know what was going to happen.  I found renters for my property on Craigslist.  They’ve been relatively reliable renters.  He helped us find a place to rent when we got married that is affordable with a fabulous landlord.  When I am anxious, I have to look back at these times and remember how God proved Himself to me and to my husband.  We just had to do our part.  Don’t you have times when God provides more than your work deserves?

But Jesus had more to say:

Consider the lilies, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.  But if God so clothes the grass, which is alive in the field today, and tomorrow is thrown in the oven, how much more will he clothe you, O you of little faith! And do not seek what you are to eat and what you are to drink, nor be worried.  For all the nations of the world seek after these things, and your Father knows that you need them. –Luke 12.27-31

Now, this part is cleverly placed.  (Jesus.  Always the clever one.)  After saying something like don’t be lazy, but Jesus will care for you He says but also trust that I have all the power and don’t need your help. A contradiction?  No.  Don’t you have both types of crises in your life?  Sometimes, you need a job and you pray and pray and pray for a job; but you don’t stop putting in applications, right?  God provides.  Other times, surprise blessings come out of no where–a sweet new opportunity, or a random refund check in the mail to help you with bills.  Or a sunset.  We have nothing to do with sunsets.

I’m so thankful that I’m not ultimately in charge, although I forget that the reigns are not mine too often.

Thirdly, Jesus says:

Fear not, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom.  Sell your possessions, and give to the needy.  Provide yourselves with moneybags that do not grow old, with a treasure in the heavens that does not fail, where no thief approaches and no moth destroys.  For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also. –Luke 12.32-24

Two things: moneybags? I’ve never heard this before.  This must be the first time I’ve read this verse in this translation.

This isn’t like my happiness pink purse.  I’ll eventually replace it at the chagrin of The Hunk.  These moneybags hold a treasure–one that is in heaven and lasts forever.  How’d you like something practical that never wears out or goes out of style?  Everyone would be pinning your living room to Pinterest until the end of time.  Your favorite shoes would never get dirty or uncomfortable.

Best truth ever: Jesus is never worn out, dirty, or corrupted.  And, in Him, we are always new.

Sweet. My treasure.

Think on that.
RejoicingRebecca

Leave some snaps

