The Birthday Weekend

Last weekend was my birthday weekend.  It was great.

Friday (my actual birthday):

The Hunk took me to an awesome murder mystery dinner.  I’m pretty certain this was the best date I’ve ever had.  We went to The Morgan House, where the event was held.  I didn’t know exactly what to expect.  Who could be guilty?  We’re supposed to be on pointe as soon as we enter, right?  Well, about one person from each table became a suspect.  Our table suspect’s name was Hazel Nutt.

Then, there was the wedding.  The wedding march was beautiful–played by kazoo from dinner participants.

And then, GASP!, the best man died.  On the spot.  Seth was sequestered to help carry him out.

There were some interesting characters there.  Here, we see the bride of Frankenstein and a jail-bird.

After some wonderful food as we interviewed one another to find out who committed the murder.  Our table won!  And, since I was the birthday girl, the table let me keep the certificate.

It was the groom.  Surprised?  Well, as it turns out, the groom was ticked that his best man had been having an affair with his betrothed.

It was a fabulous date.  If you haven’t been to a murder mystery dinner, schedule one NOW!

Saturday:

On Saturday, we went to Kentucky to visit my family.  It was a beautiful day.

I found a sweet app for my Android.  It’s called Camera 360.  It helped me get this sweet-looking HDR-like image.  If only I could get this app on my SLR…

My parents took us out to dinner for my birthday.  Mom had told me about a place she went to with friends and was dying to take me.  It was fun:

A hibachi grill!  The food was delish!

And it was a fun time.  Check out these flames:

Sunday:

After church with some of my favorite peeps in the world, we came home.  The Hunk put together the curio cabinet my mother bought me for my birthday.  It’s fabulous!  Do you know how much I love cherry wood? *sigh*

So, there you have it: my birthday weekend in a nutshell.  I have fabulous family and friends.  Which, of course, makes this aging thing a little teensy bit easier.

Your elder,

2 thoughts on “The Birthday Weekend

  1. Pingback: 30 by 30: Summer 2013 Edition | Rejoicing Rebecca Photo

  2. Pingback: Blogtember: Life Lately | Rejoicing Rebecca Photo

Leave some snaps

