Truth vs Majority’s Rule

Truth goes up against Majority’s Rule every second of every day of every year of every decade of every generation.  In the end, Truth will win; in the mean, time, though, the majority is throwing Truth-seekers for a loop.

Example 1:

Everyone says that it’s totally a normal thing–a normal desire–to have sex, so it must be okay to have lots of it before marriage.  We called it peer pressure in high school, but Mr. Peer Pressure has gone on steroids.  Now, the norm is completely against God’s plan for us.  So, we go with the norm, thinking, “If everyone’s doing it, it must be right,” and that, “if my Christian friends are doing it, then there must be no negative repercussions of it.”

Example 2:

“Well, all that Bible stuff is written to a culture that is different from us and, therefore, much of it doesn’t apply to our culture.”  I mean, afterall, we now have equal rights for women and those people in the Bible days were ignorant about sex.  They didn’t know how to separate sex from reality and we do.

Lies.

I’m ticked about it, too.  Ticked.

Why have we made truth into grayness when it is clearly black and white?  Truth has no exceptions–only stereotypes do.  I’m about to throw a chair at the window, I’m so ticked at what people have tried to do with Truth.

Thankfully, Truth remains Truth, despite the naysayers who try to put overlays and cast various lightings on Him.

But I don’t just want to be angry about the dummies who have tried to water down what is Truth and grow their own versions of truth; I want to fight back.

How?

Sticking with truth can be difficult–confusing.  I find myself torn between being part of the herd and pushing against the rush to stay firm in Christ’s Truth.

But God’s word has answers.

John 4.23 says, “But the hour is coming, and is now here, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for the Father is seeking such people to worship him.”

I am overwhelmed.  I want to be one of those worshipers who worship in spirit and in truth.  I can’t worship the Creator of all the world, the Giver of Grace, just in my spirit all the wile thinking that My Truth is higher than His–that My Gospel is superior to His.

I won’t.

Instead, I will seek Truth and follow His light.

Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling! *Psalms 43.3

Truthfully,

Leave some snaps

