Photo Edits: Winner’s Batch!

As I mentioned before, Jessica, our big giveaway winner, had a super-sweet project in mind.  She took the negatives from her wedding pictures to a local photo development place, where they developed her pictures and made digital copies of them for her.  Then, she submitted them to me for me to edit.  I made several edits–above and beyond those promised– and hopefully she’ll be able to use them for her intended purposes: to frame and surprise her husband! :)  Below are the results with limited explanations:

While this picture obviously captures a very special moment, the point and shoot camera did not do what our modern DSLR cameras do.  I produced six edits to this shot.

The last edit was requested by the bride.  She wanted to completely get rid of the background; good call. :)

Speaking of the bride, let’s talk bridal shots.  Below are edits of two bridal shots.

The background is simple enough in this pic, but the silver bar in the bottom right corner is an eyesore.  And the developer had black lines on the bottoms, tops, or sides of each pic.  I had to get rid of that, of course.

Here’s another bridal shot, which is simply beautiful–totally shows the joy of the day!

What a happy bride!  I only made two edits of these and I only did B&W.  Mostly because the background was the most distracting aspect of the picture.

Basically, one’s a little brighter than the other.  I’m also in the habit of erasing the foot of the cross that’s in a lot of original pictures.  The cross is wonderful, but only seeing a piece of it in a pic is an eyesore IMHO.

Next up: The groom.  I only made one edit of his pic and I can’t figure out why…

Oh, I remember why: Because I had to do so much with it.  In this pic, everything in the background totally [totally. totally.] distracts from the main event–the hunk of the day.  But have no fear, RejoicingRebecca’s here to fix that. :)

I don’t know if this picture is sized for a regular-sized picture, but it’s in the exact proportions I received.  I made it portrait instead of landscape and did some simple editing to the pic.

Much better.

Next up: Grandpa!

This picture is precious!  Grandparents are often the proudest family members on that big day.  :)  I really wanted to bring this pic in close–bring it in rul tite!

The second one may not seem much different, but it is a little more artsy.  I struggle, sometimes, with the balance between artsy photographs and photos that are completely true to view.  But these two pics are very similar and not so artsy that they lose the original mood.  LOVE IT!

Next, comes the most difficult picture to edit.  I wish I could have done more…

The angle of this pic and the clutter around the main event made me painfully aware of the work ahead of me.  First step, crop.  Done.  Then, I changed the angle of the pic in hopes to make them look a little less, well, crooked.  Then, I tried to make the chairs disappear, but the one on the left was just not going to leave.  So, this is  my heart-felt best effort:

In the interest of a short post, I will now present the collages I made and, perhaps another pic or two.

What’s up with Jessica always facing the same way?  :)  This last collage was a little redundant; I shall sharpen my collage skills–perhaps by making my own more interesting collage templates.

Thanks for entering, Jessica!  I hope the rest of your project goes off without a hitch! :)

Love,

Leave some snaps

