Recent Cooking Endeavors: Chicken, Beef, Hummus

Christmas [/Winter] break has provided several opportunities for me to practice my cooking skills.  My very weak cooking skills.

In my excitement to eat, I neglected to take pictures, but here goes:

Chicken ‘n’ Dumplins in a slow cooker

I put two chicken breasts, a can of water, a can of chicken broth, and two cans of cream of chicken soup into the cooker.  I turned it on low for 5-6 hours, then added torn apart biscuits from a can for about an hour.  Simple and pretty good.  Next time, I plan to make Bisquick biscuits or use noodles.

Chili on the stove top

I use a simple recipe for chili.  I brown some grown beef, drain it and put it in a pot.  I add a can of beans, a can of stewed tomatoes, and whatever-the-heck spices I want.  This time: garlic powder, onion powder, Worcestershire sauce, chili pepper, and salt.  I simmer it for a while–30 minutes, depending on how long it will take The Husband to get home, and enjoy.

Hummus in a blender

I love hummus but it’s so gosh darned expensive.  Husband Dearest and I made some today.  We drained a can of chickpeas, setting aside the liquid from the can; then, we poured the chickpeas (also known as garbanzo beans) into the blender, added 3 tablespoons of lemon juice, a tablespoon and a half of tahini, a half teaspoon of salt, two crushed garlic cloves, and a quarter cup of the juice from the can of chickpeas and more garlic powder to taste.  It was delish.  We ate it in one sitting.  We like to dip Quatro Formaggio Triscuits in it, but pita bread would be sufficient, since the hummus itself is so flavorful.

Leave some snaps

